Delivering another blow to the embattled party, as many as six leaders of the Congress have quit the party in solidarity with senior party leader Ghulam Nabi Azad who resigned from all party positions, including its primary membership, earlier in the day. After being associated with the grand old party for over 5 decades, Azad parted ways blaming Rahul Gandhi for destroying the consultative mechanism of the party.

Those who have resigned from primary membership of the party after Azad’s departure are: Jammu and Kashmir Congress leaders Ghulam Mohammad Saroori, Haji Abdul Rashid, Mohammad Amin Bhatt, Gulzar Ahmad Wani, Chaudhary Akram Mohammad, Salman Nizami and Senior Congress Leader & Former Minister RS Chib.

“We the 5 ex-MLAs are resigning from the Congress party in support of Ghulam Nabi Azad. Now, only Jammu & Kashmir Pradesh Congress (JKPC) president will be left alone,” Saroori told reporters after quitting the grand old party.

Soon after 5 ex-MLAs put down their papers, another Congress leader and former minister RS Chib resigned from the party and wrote a no holds barred letter to the Congress president detailing his grievances.

In the letter, Chib said, “I feel that in the prevailing circumstances, Congress party has lost its momentum in contributing towards the future of my state. Keeping in view the turmoil that the State of J&K has witnessed over the past decades, the people require a decisive leader like Jb. Ghulam Nabi Azad to guide them towards a better future. I feel that Congress party has not been able to play the role that is expected of it.”