The President of India has appointed a next Chief Election Commissioner Of India. Union Law Minister Kiren Rijiju took to Twitter and informed that Rajiv Kumar is the Chief Election Commissioner with effect from the 15th May, 2022. Rajeev Kumar will be replacing Sushil Chandra who conducted the last five state assembly elections in 2022.

The Law Minister tweeted, “In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Rajiv Kumar as the Chief Election Commissioner with effect from the 15th May, 2022. My best wishes to Shri Rajiv Kumar.”

Rajiv Kumar will be taking charge of the Election Commission of India from May 15, 2022.

Rajiv Kumar joined the Election Commission of India as Election Commissioner on 1st September 2020. Prior to assuming charge in Election Commission, Kumar was the Chairman, Public Enterprises Selection Board. He had joined as Chairman PESB in April 2020.

Rajiv Kumar is an officer of the Indian Administrative Service of Bihar/Jharkhand cadre 1984 batch, superannuated from the Indian Administrative Service in February 2020.

Rajeev Kumar has also served as the Director, Central Board of Reserve Bank of India (RBI), SBI, NABARD. He has been a Member of the Economic Intelligence Council (EIC), Member of the Financial Stability and Development Council (FSDC); Member of Bank Board Bureau (BBB), and a Member of the Financial Sector Regulatory Appointments Search Committee (FSRASC) among many other such Boards and Committees.