Connect with us


India begins its 2 year tenure of non-permanent member of UNSC

India on Friday has officially begun its 2 year tenure of being a non-permanent member of United Nations Security Council.

It is for the eighth time the country with sit in 15 nation – United Nations Security Council for the 2021-2022 term as a non-permanent member.

In 2021, India, Norway, Kenya, Ireland and Mexico join non-permanent members Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam and the five permanent members China, France, Russia, UK and the US in the Council.

“As the largest democracy…we will be promoting very fundamental values like democracy, human rights and development,” India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador T S Tirumurti told PTI.

The Presidency of the Council is held by all the members in turn for one month each, alphabetically of the Member State names. According to this, India will be the President of UNSC in August 2021 and will preside over the Council again for a month in 2022.

Tirumurti said that India’s message will be to ensure “how do we let diversity flourish in a united framework, which is in many ways the United Nations itself. This is something which India as a country, as what we stand for” will take to the Council.

He added that India will emphasise on a greater co-operation in the Council. “We would like to have a more cooperative structure in which we genuinely look out and find solutions and go beyond the rhetoric.”

Muskan Langoo, News Producer, JK Media

Continue Reading


Covid-19 Updates (India)

26 Feb 2021, 6:27 AM (GMT)

Coronavirus Stats

11,063,491 Total Cases
156,861 Death Cases
10,750,680 Recovered Cases




Subscribe to our newsletter

Please wait...
Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.


Total Users : 461206
Views Today : 8136
Total views : 3106810

Copyright © 2020 JK Media. Powered by Rodiex