The week-long suspense came to an end on Monday, March 13. India qualified for the World Test Championship final for the second successive time even before their final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia came to an end in Ahmedabad. India went through to the final after Sri Lanka, who were also in contention for the summit clash, lost the first of their 2-Test series in New Zealand in a thrilling finish on Monday.

India will take on Australia in the final of the WTC at the Oval in London from June 7 to 11. Australia qualified for the final after winning the 3rd Test against India in Indore earlier in the month. India needed to avoid losing more than 1 Test in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and hope New Zealand don’t suffer a 2-0 whitewash in their Test series at home.